Coopers Community

How to describe the taste of beer?

jennyss

I'll admit my ignorance. I'm only beginning to learn about the different styles of beer from discussion here in the forum; and knowing how to describe the taste of beer....... that's a mystery.

I've found a great article online - 'Beer Tasting 101'. This can be found at https://glacier-design.com/resource-library/beer-tasting-101 . For example, it is OK to describe hop flavour and bitterness as being like 'newly mown lawn'. So Shamus O'Sean's description of his new brew as 'Lawn Food Stout' isn't as way out as I first thought!

• Like 7
  • Haha 1

38 minutes ago, jennyss said:

I'll admit my ignorance. I'm only beginning to learn about the different styles of beer from discussion here in the forum; and knowing how to describe the taste of beer....... that's a mystery.

I've found a great article online - 'Beer Tasting 101'. This can be found at https://glacier-design.com/resource-library/beer-tasting-101 . For example, it is OK to describe hop flavour and bitterness as being like 'newly mown lawn'. So Shamus O'Sean's description of his new brew as 'Lawn Food Stout' isn't as way out as I first thought!

That's pretty much it Jenny, described the way it is, you will notice how some beers are heavy - malty, others lightish' pale, clearer types, hoppy, citrus flavours. There are so many but eventually it just comes natural to single out a beer type. The type of glass plays a part but that is another topic. Even temperature can change the appearance & taste of a beer.

• Like 4

1 hour ago, jennyss said:

I thought that was Interceptors beer and it was in reference to him throwing the last stout batch on his lawn! I don’t think it was in relation to taste! Correct me if I am wrong!

• Like 2
  • Haha 3