Coopers Community

Amatuer brewing advice

dylanbrews

Hi all,

I am new to the brewing game and the forums, I have just made my first brew yesterday in the Coopers D.I.Y kit and have a few questions;

1: When i made the brew i used boiling water in the FV to mix in the canned product and only had room temp water to make up the rest of it which resulted in the temp being approx 27-28 on the thermometer strip when i added the yeast? Will this be an issue?

2: I currently have the FV with the product in a room which fluctuates in temp often getting up to around 29-30 degrees since i started monitoring it two days ago will the constant change in temp be an issue?

Not to phased if my first effort doesn't taste great as long as it won't make me sick from not being right?

Thanks in advance for any advice 👍

It won't make you sick, unless you drink half the batch in one sitting perhaps 😜

Pitching temp isn't too critical, I prefer to pitch at fermentation temp but it won't be an issue.

The fermentation temp is too high though, ideally you want it about 18-20 degrees. The fermentation creates heat as well so it will end up a few degrees above the ambient temperature. Chuck a wet towel around it and put a fan on it, it won't get it all the way down but it should get it down to the mid 20s. 

You will need to look at ways to keep the temp down if you want to improve your beers though. 

I've abused various ale yeasts in the past,  with fermentation temps as high as 26ºC and the resultant beer was actually quite OK - surprisingly.  The only exception - a yeast that turned real nasty at that temp and threw of headache-producing, solvent-tasting fusals was US-05.  The kit ale yeast and others like Nottingham as I discovered seem relatively robust in comparison.  However even for these more sturdy strains fermenting at 29-30ºC is almost guaranteed to cause problems 🤮