Coopers Community

Problem carbing up beer

stquinto

Happy New Year to everyone !

Got a question for the gas gurus out there if I may be so bold. I've been keeing for a few months and have had some mixed results. Sometimes all is good, sometimes a bit meh.

Lately my kegs are not getting carbed up at all. I have bumped up the pressure to 30 - 40 PSI for a day, but it hasn't led to a properly carbonated beer with CO2 dissolved into a beer like it should. I burp the kegs and they are full of gas though.

Obviously I could have a leak / series of leaks, and I did lose one Nitro blend bottle from a Guinness keg bursting the beer line which I had foolishly left on when trying to force carbonate. In retrospect that wasn't too clever as Nitro won't dissolve into beer like CO2 will. I lost 3/4 of a tank of the replacement Nitro from a leaky line (not having much luck, and at 85AU$ for a 10kg refill the foray into kegging is getting a bit pricey...)

I've checked with soapy water sprayed onto the fittings. I also turn the filled kegs upside down to check there's no leak. I read that there could be leaks from the gas input washers on the kegs, but which can be hard to identify. 

The question was as you can see from the picture the bottle on the right (CO2) is nearly empty. Could that have an impact on not being able to carb up the beer ? There seems to be enough to serve it, but as no CO2 is dissolved into the brew it is flat but with a frothy head.

Appreciate any advice, thanks !

IMG_7425.thumb.jpg.8eb49c9029498bcc789ca10fcfaf7ef9.jpg

• Like 2

If you overfill the kegs and do not have sufficient headspace then they will not carbonate as expected. Carbonation is about how much surface area is exposed to the CO2 under pressure for the beer to be able to absorb the CO2 into solution, that is why when you shake, roll or rattle a keg it will absorb more CO2 as you are increasing the surface area for the absorbtion of the gas.