Coopers Community

Questionable health advice

Malter White

In the 3+ years I've visited this forum a number of other contributors have come and gone due to health concerns and their need to reduce alcohol consumption. You shouldn't ignore your health. It is the basis of a happy existence.
It is with this in mind, Dr. Muzzy (I'm not a health professional by the way) offers his questionable health advice: Brew LAGERS and reduce your added fermentables.
I currently have a lager fermenting. The absolute bare minimum I will ferment it will be 2 weeks. Then add another month minimum in the bottle. We're talking 6 weeks plus from FV to taste buds. If this timeframe doesn't reduce your alcohol consumption I'd be surprised.
I haven't often brewed lagers and while I'm impatiently waiting for this one I now remember why.

*Footnote: This commentary is tongue in cheek with a slight element of truth. Consume responsibly. Cheers.

• Haha 5

16 minutes ago, MUZZY said:

It is with this in mind, Dr. Muzzy (I'm not a health professional by the way) offers his questionable health advice: Brew LAGERS and reduce your added fermentables.
I currently have a lager fermenting. The absolute bare minimum I will ferment it will be 2 weeks. Then add another month minimum in the bottle. We're talking 6 weeks plus from FV to taste buds. If this timeframe doesn't reduce your alcohol consumption I'd be surprised.
I haven't often brewed lagers and while I'm impatiently waiting for this one I now remember why.

1. Pressure ferment and transfer under pressure to kegs, not bottles. Problem solved and hardly any patience needed. 😄

2. A 6 week 'incubation' period is easily overcome if one has the room - a brew per week and in 6 weeks you start on the 1st with new beers available each week after that.  And once the 1st brew is drinking-age, cut back to a brew per fortnight because you should have reasonable stocks by then.