Coopers Community

Coopers IPA. Better left alone?

Segrigs

I am new to brewing and have only done two batches so far. I want to do an IPA for the summer since I love the grapefruit taste I get from them. Is coopers IPA good left alone or should I add more hopes like citra to get more of that flavour?  Any thoughts would be appreciated. 

I think it depends on your tastes. If you like lots of citrus bite, the standard can may not have it. Citra would be a perfect addition if you decide to hop up.

I found with most cans, even the 'crafty' ones, they're still targeted at the average drinker, or brewer who wants to brew as simple as possible.

5 hours ago, Instigator said:

Welcome to the forum @Segrigs. What did you brew for your first two batches?

My first batch was a brew Canada red beer. I have a coopers draught brewing right now and I plan on starting an IPA next weekend when my hops come in. 

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Segrigs said:

Thanks for the advice everyone. I think I will be doing some dry hopping. From what I read I think that may give me the results I want. I think citra and maybe cascade

My first brew was just as per the Coopers recipe and was ok but the next one (APA) I hopped with Citra and the difference is amazing.

I am looking forward to trying it with dry hopping. I’m just wondering how much to use. I was thinking 1/2 ounce of citra and 1/2 ounce cascade or just 1 ounce of citra. How much did you use?

I used 12g hop tea then dry hopped with 12g at day 2, but this was a 10lt brew. Tried a bottle the other day and the hops were really up front. I expect that to mellow out as it conditions but as this is the first time I have used hops I am just guessing!

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...
On 6/10/2019 at 11:00 AM, ozlizard said:

My first brew was just as per the Coopers recipe and was ok but the next one (APA) I hopped with Citra and the difference is amazing.

How much citra did you use and did you dry hop or step?