Coopers Community

Recommendations of what to clean the FV etc with.

Froghunter

After use I clean my fermentor with good old dishwashing liquid and a brush. Before putting on another brew I sanitize with Mangrove Jacks no rinse sanitizer.

Edit: just found out Mangrove Jacks no rinse sanitizer is just branded sodium percarbonate. Now if I can just find the unbranded stuff, I might save myself a few $$$.

Edited by ChairmanDrew
  • Like 1

4 hours ago, Froghunter said:

G'day fellow brewers.

I haven't brewed for 30 years but excited to go again.

Seeking advise from the wise as to what "unscented household bleach" you all use to clean your equipment?

Aldi Di-San Pro Oxy does the job for me.  1 teaspoon per litre of cleaning water.

• Like 3

Hi @Froghunter,  I have been brewing for 20 months, using Coopers extracts.  I started with a Coopers kit and instructions, which said 'sanitise with unscented bleach'. I use White King un-scented bleach with the strength of 1/4 cup bleach to 20 litres of water when I am sanitising my fermenting vessel, taps, clips, scissors, spoons, can opener; and 10 days later my PET bottles and filling wand.  A good soak is followed by a good rinse. I haven't had any problem with infections or off flavours or bleach odour.

• Like 1

You can use unscented bleach if you must. It doesn't hurt but ensure you rinse well afterwards. I usually stay clear of bleach unless something requires some heavy-duty action.

Many here use sodium percarbonate to clean or an "oxy cleaner" from the cleaning aisle in the supermarket. The latter contain SP but also bleach and other cleaning agents. Again, rinse well after cleaning. I usually soak the FV in a sodium percarbonate solution overnight, then empty it and wipe it down with a soft cloth.