Coopers Community

PET Bottles

Paul B 77

Hi all. I've only recently bought the Coopers craft brew kit. I love the craft brew kit for its handy size and simplicity. I'm brewing a simple craft brew (Diablo) every week, carbonating in the PET bottles (which I've never used before) for a couple of weeks and drinking within a week. The Diablo generally produces a nice head. I've noticed though recently, after having used the PET bottles 6 or 7 times each, that I'm getting 1 or 2 bottles in a batch that are dead flat. I'm wondering whether this could be because of the PET bottles. My questions are - how long do the PET bottles last? How do you know that they have passed their use by date? Is the flat beer an indication that the PET bottle is no good? Appreciate any insights.

I used PETS for well over a year and they were fine. I use mostly glass now, but always bottle a few PETs in each batch too. I would get the odd dud, and it's probably just that bottle. The cap might have leak or the bottle thread might have an issue. Some bottles might just fail after a while, so I bin them.

• Like 1

Hi @Paul B 77.
The PET bottles are all I use. I get the occasional dud as well. My first reaction if I get a flat one is to ditch the lid. It's not often the bottles are faulty. They can be but it's usually the lid.
If you get a dud bottle, just check the rim to ensure there's no glitches in it. A good seal = bubbles. 🙂 

• Like 1