Coopers Community

How much yeast to add to my extract homebrew?

jennyss

I have been making Coopers extract homebrews for 18 months now, and always using the yeast sachet under the lid. I am now trying different additions of malt, brew enhancers, and hops. How much 'food' can these under lid yeast sachets handle? When do I need to start thinking about more yeast or different yeast?  (I'm definitely not going down the homegrown yeast path at this stage.) 

• Like 2

1 hour ago, jennyss said:

I have been making Coopers extract homebrews for 18 months now, and always using the yeast sachet under the lid. I am now trying different additions of malt, brew enhancers, and hops. How much 'food' can these under lid yeast sachets handle? When do I need to start thinking about more yeast or different yeast?  (I'm definitely not going down the homegrown yeast path at this stage.) 

Jenny If you are brewing Ales I would definitely recommend this one, it is 11gm & a vigorous worker, also delivers nice flavours.

https://www.lallemandbrewing.com/en/united-states/product-details/nottingham-high-performance-ale-yeast/

NEW Lallemand Nottingham High Performance Ale Yeast 11g - Picture 1 of 1

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, jennyss said:

How much 'food' can these under lid yeast sachets handle? When do I need to start thinking about more yeast or different yeast?

One thing I have noticed is that the "under lid" yeast satchels are quite small, around 7g. The Nottingham yeast satchel @Classic Brewing Co recommended is 11g.