Coopers Community

Tips/advice for Beginners

JakeOx351

Hey everyone, I’ve brewed my first batch and bottles a month ago. I used coopers real ale. Follow instructions and found that carbonation was inconsistent. Also flavour was strange, ones that carbonated beautifully tasted so nice, but on to 2nd glass had strong perfume flavours to it. So off putting. What could of happened here? Went to some FB groups but get people taking the piss or being quite aggressive. I’m a newbie I’m learning. Any tips will help. Cheers 🍻 

Edited by JakeOx351
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, JakeOx351 said:

Hey everyone, I’ve brewed my first batch and bottles a month ago. I used coopers real ale. Follow instructions and found that carbonation was inconsistent. Also flavour was strange, ones that carbonated beautifully tasted so nice, but on to 2nd glass had strong perfume flavours to it. So off putting. What could of happened here? Went to some FB groups but get people taking the piss or being quite aggressive. I’m a newbie I’m learning. Any tips will help. Cheers 🍻 

Hi Jake and welcome to the Coopers Forum.  You will not find folks on here taking the p1ss or being aggressive, and if they do, they get dealt with.

Tell us a bit more about your process/recipe.  If using Coopers carbonation drops, sometimes there is a difference in fizziness because the drops can be slightly different sizes.  I mostly carbonate with table sugar.  You can get a measure that suits 750, 500 and 375 bottle sizes.  I just use my wife's measuring spoons.

Not sure about the perfume flavour you describe.  Maybe it is how the Real Ale is meant to taste.  I found the Real Ale can a good base for many nice brews.  The Coopers range is definitely different to Great Northern and similar commercial beers.

• Like 5

12 hours ago, JakeOx351 said:

2nd glass had strong perfume flavours to it.

I'm no expert but just for an experiment

Try pouring the whole bottle into two glasses or a jug

Leaving the last 1cm