Coopers Community

Replace 1kg beer enhancer #3 with whole grain malts

Jimmeh

Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to home brewing & my starting point was using brew in the bag / whole grain recipes. 

Right now I'd like to make a reasonable clone of Coopers Stout and figure the best middle ground would be to use a Coopers Stout extract can & follow the recipe in DYIbeer.com, but replace the 1kg packet of beer enhancer #3 called for in the recipe with whole grain malt(s).  I’d brew the stout similar way to those RoM beer kits. 
I'd really appreciate advice as to what malt(s) to use as a replacement to the packet of beer enhancer & roughly how much of each to use for a 23L batch. My biab efficiency is about 70%.
Have spent some time looking for similar topics / posts on the forum, but not been able to filter results sufficiently to find relevant posts….must be getting old (or this is a completely dumb idea)! 
Thanks & 🍻
Jimmy 😊
  • Like 2

2 hours ago, Jimmeh said:

Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to home brewing & my starting point was using brew in the bag / whole grain recipes. 

Right now I'd like to make a reasonable clone of Coopers Stout and figure the best middle ground would be to use a Coopers Stout extract can & follow the recipe in DYIbeer.com, but replace the 1kg packet of beer enhancer #3 called for in the recipe with whole grain malt(s).  I’d brew the stout similar way to those RoM beer kits. 
I'd really appreciate advice as to what malt(s) to use as a replacement to the packet of beer enhancer & roughly how much of each to use for a 23L batch. My biab efficiency is about 70%.
Have spent some time looking for similar topics / posts on the forum, but not been able to filter results sufficiently to find relevant posts….must be getting old (or this is a completely dumb idea)! 
Thanks & 🍻
Jimmy 😊

Hi @Jimmeh