Coopers Community

thomas coopers bootmaker pale fermentation

stuv83

Hi all. I'm new to brewing and have just kicked off my first batch with Thomas Cooper's bootmaker pale and was wondering how long I should let it ferment. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. 

Happy brewing. 🍻

• Like 2

Hi @stuv83 and welcome to the Forum.

Your best friend with fermenting a beer is a good hydrometer, it will measure the specific gravity of the beer and give you a good indication of when the fermentation process has finished. It is generally accepted that when a fermenting beer has achieved a stable gravity over 2 days then it can be bottled to begin its secondary fermentation and its conditioning period. If you do not have a hydrometer to test the SG then just be patient and allow 2 weeks in the fermenter before bottling it.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Thanks, @kmar92.  I have the hydrometer that is included with the kit (I hope it's a good one). I took an SG reading after adding the yeast. I was planning on taking a second reading in 7 days and then again every day until I get two days of the same result. Does this sound like a good plan? 

• Like 2

1 minute ago, stuv83 said:

Thanks, @kmar92.  I have the hydrometer that is included with the kit (I hope it's a good one). I took an SG reading after adding the yeast. I was planning on taking a second reading in 7 days and then again every day until I get two days of the same result. Does this sound like a good plan? 

Yep @stuv83 that sounds like a great plan. Just do not bottle too quickly, if you do you will have too much fermentable sugars left in the bottle, and that can cause explosive results with bottles being over pressurized.

• Like 2

44 minutes ago, stuv83 said:

Hi all. I'm new to brewing and have just kicked off my first batch with Thomas Cooper's bootmaker pale and was wondering how long I should let it ferment. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. 

Happy brewing. 🍻