Coopers Community

Kegging vs Bottling and Forced Carbonation vs Natural Carbonation - Challenging The Accepted Beliefs

JimInCollie

As I said in my initial post in this forum, I am new to Coopers kits, but not to brewing as I have always brewed all-grain beers in the past. Two things you read a lot about in researching beer making are:

1. kegging vs bottling - which is best? the general consensus is that kegging is easier, quicker, and has a number of other advantages
  2. carbonation: natural carbonation vs forced carbonation - the majority opinion seems to favour forced carbonation

Kegging vs Bottling

Most home brewers will say that kegging is quicker, easier, and less messy than bottling beer, and this is true at the time when fermentation stops.  Simply rack off your fermented wort into a keg, with or without sugar, and you're done! However, at the other end, after the kegs cough, you need to:

• clean the lines
  • dismantle and clean the beer taps
  • wash out the kegs, sanitise, and dry them

which is wetter, messier and heavier work than simply discarding the bottles, or rinsing and storing them. Bottling takes a little longer than simply running beer into a keg, but once done, it's done and all that remains is to flip the bottle top off and enjoy a perfect craft beer. I can tell you that kegerator and keezer taps do not always pour to satisfactory levels when a new keg is added to them.

Forced Carbonation vs Natural Carbonation

For readers who are not brewers, "forced carbonation" means attaching a gas line to a keg of fermented wort and forcing CO2 into the beer until it is carbonated to the degree of supporting a good head, having bubbles, and nice mouthfeel.

"Natural carbonation" means adding sugar (not really recommended) or glucose to bottles or kegs of newly fermented beer and sealing them so that secondary fermentation can carbonate your beer naturally.  There are formulas to help you work out how much sugar to add.