Coopers Community

Can I boil Coopers DIY kit malt extract?

JimInCollie

Hi, I'm Jim Elliott (display name: JimInCollie) and I am new to Coopers kits and this forum.  I have been brewing all-grain beers until now but I am currently trying the differing Coopers DIY products. Most of the ordinary kits say to:

• Mix the ingredients (water, extract, Brew Enhancer, etc)
  • Add yeast when at the right temperature
  • Ferment
  • Bottle, condition, and enjoy.

The instructions say nothing about boiling.  However, I have a Digiboil which I bought for my All-Grain recipes, and was wondering if there is any harm in boiling the Coopers ingredients for, say, 15 minutes?

Why do I want to do this?

1. I can add a Whirlfloc tablet just before the end of the boil
  2. Everything becomes sterilised - less chance of infection with bacteria or wild yeast.

Is there anything wrong with a short boil before cooling and adding to a sanitised fermenter?

Many thanks, Jim

• Like 1

Hi Jim @JimInCollieand welcome to our forum.

No - short answer is DO NOT BOIL COOPERS KITS.  If you do it will make it much more darker and more importantly much more bitter.  (Sort of like boiling your bittering hops for twice as long as you should have when doing AG).

You do not need to add Whirlfloc as this has already been taken care of in the kit extract, you just need to add your brew enhancer / dry or liquid malts / sugars etc then the appropriate amount of water.

My process is (or was as I mainly do AG now):-

• Sanitize everything, FV, spoon can opener, scissors for yeast packs and the kit can itself (I remove as much of the label as I can) and spray whole can with sanitizer.  You know this drill from AG so nothing new there.
  • Fill your kettle with chlorine free tap water and boil, you need about 2 L of boiling water only.
  • Put about 2 L of chlorine free tap water into the FV first so that the following addition of boiling water does not damage the FV.