Coopers Community

New DIY beer Kit help

LiamC1

Im new to brewing and just bought the coopers diy beer kit. I would really prefer to bottle my beer in glass bottles. Is it possible and what do i need? I have the empty bottles already if it will work in a coopers long neck.

Thanks

Hi Liam

Firstly, welcome to the forum.

Secondly, if you post in the "Brewing Blether" board you will get a quicker response [joyful] I'm sure this will be moved eventually by the admin.

Thirdly, yes you can bottle in whatever you want. It's just "safer" to bottle in the PET's, especially for noobs.

You must ensure fermentation is finished completely before bottling - use the hydrometer to test, if the readings are the same after two days in a row then fermentation is finished (it's also a good idea to leave it for a few days after the ferment is finished just to be sure, and to let the yeasties clean up after themselves).

If you bottle before fermentation is finished....

Mushroom-cloud-hb.jpg

Well, maybe not quite that, but a mess nevertheless. And you could get injured while opening.

Welcome Liam [biggrin]

I'd recommend a bench capper rather than the type in the video. Much, much easier [rightful]

benchcapper64933zoom.jpg

Also, many people turn their nose up at the PET bottles (I used to [innocent] ) but they are really quite good. As long as you pour it in a clean glass for drinking they are just as good as bottles. The plastic doesn't actually taint the flavour in any way. Beer will taste different when drinking directly from plastic or aliminium but that is only from the smell - our senses automatically perceive the smell as taste.

Use a glass (as you always should for quality beer [rightful] ) and all will be good.

I was never a big fan of the bench capper because of the size of it, but yeah they're easy to use.