Coopers Community

Extra Strong Vintage Ale

AnthonyR1525228508

Hi mate,

I just bought my recipe kit off the website, Im a newbie, have a Coopers Lager 1 week in bottles, Tooheys dark ale toucan in the fermenter now, and the ESVA is next in line, planning to brew my summer stock before it gets too warm!

cant wait to taste, anywhere in Melbourne that has this for me to taste??

Cheers!

I went to Archive beer boutique last night and on their list of draught beers they had the 2013 vintage ale, but when I asked the barman he said they don't have it on tap any more. [pinched] That place is busy as hell so I just ended up with a pint of something else.. next time though if they have any bottles I'll try one. Really need to go to that place more often, the selection is endless and no mega swill! [biggrin]

• 4 weeks later...

A newbie to the Order, but been very happily fermenting and drinking Cooper's brews ever since they released the actual liquid wort in 20 litre or so bladders (or was it poly drums - can't remember exactly). But it was back in the 70's, and I've lost count of the number of their brews I've put down over the years. So I thought I pretty well knew it all....

Having enjoyed immensely their ESVA in stubbies (when away on trips), I ordered a pair of the 2013 ESVA kits which arrived here at the farm last week. Downloaded the recipe sheet, soaked the crystal malt o/n, and thought I'd do the right thing and re-activate the BRY97 yeast before pitching it. Never had an issue with adding yeast before, but got a magnifying glass and read the picture/instructions on the sachet (warm water, 15 minutes, then pitch, etc).

Well, next day, nothing was happening - not a sign of activity! So THEN decided to look up the detailed instructions on the Lallemand/Danstar website[roll]

By stirring the yeast into the warmish water, I think I drowned it[crying]