Coopers Community

Considering home brewing - complete newb with questions

stevo1957

Hi all,

I am recently retired and thought I might give home brewing a bash given I now should have some more free time.

I enjoy 150 Lashes pale ale so was thinking I'd try a mix that will give this flavour, but given I'm the only beer drinker in the house, and not a big one at that, thought the craft beer Coopers kit would be a good starting point given it's size and price.

The sales blurb mentions you should use the Mr Beer Craft Series of brewing extracts. Does that mean I am limited only to these flavours or can I use any extract and ingredients from other manufacturers, providing I match the required measure to the brew kit size?

Probably a basic question, but like I said, I'm a total newb and despite googling home brew and kits for some time, am getting confused with exactly what my options are.

Guidance / advice would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Steve

Edited by stevo1957
  • Like 1

7 minutes ago, stevo1957 said:

Hi all,

I am recently retired and thought I might give home brewing a bash given I now should have some more free time.

I enjoy 150 Lashes pale ale so was thinking I'd try a mix that will give this flavour, but given I'm the only beer drinker in the house, and not a big one at that, thought the craft beer Coopers kit would be a good starting point given it's size and price.

The sales blurb mentions you should use the Mr Beer Craft Series of brewing extracts. Does that mean I am limited only to these flavours or can I use any extract and ingredients from other manufacturers, providing I match the required measure to the brew kit size?

Probably a basic question, but like I said, I'm a total newb and despite googling home brew and kits for some time, am getting confused with exactly what my options are.

Cheers,

Steve

Hi Steve welcome to the forum & the wonderful world of Home Brewing.