Coopers Community

Brewing at ambient temp with Kviek yeast

Hey guys.

So for the next few weeks at least I've had to move north to central Qld (compassionate grounds).

Staying with the brother in law, we're obviously chewing through cartons of beer like they're going out of fashion.

Hence my post. He's got a FV and some pet bottles in his shed which he's used once on a failed ginger beer experiment.

I figured whilst I'm here, I might as well give his equipment a good clean and have a crack at a basic K & K brew and use some Kviek yeast, as there's no temp control available and I'll be fermenting at ambient, which around here at this time of year is around 30 odd degrees.

I've never used Kviek yeast before. I'm after some recipe suggestions.

I haven't got a lot of equipment at.my disposal, but could possibly do a small steep and a late addition of something.

The brother in law likes lagers but isn't fazed my a slightly hopped pale ale.

Given this, what would be a simple kit n kilo with a dry hop (maybe even a short steep, boil and FO addition) that would make something not too Hoppy and come out delicious using kviek at ambient. Any suggestions would be great. Cheers.

I haven't used it but I understand it's fairly neutral so it's more 'pick your recipe' and add kveik.

Real Ale can, kilo LDME and hop with maybe 25g mosaic for a couple of days.

Edited by Journeyman

3 minutes ago, karlos_1984 said:

Is a German witbier or similar style possible in an extract form?

Download the recipe SS from Shamus here...  You can use it to find a large number of extract recipes based on what you have - drop down the arrows at top to filter.

2 hours ago, karlos_1984 said:

a slightly hopped pale ale.

Would be good. The yeast I have used had a fairly prominent taste when made with a rather plain beer. Repitches were in hoppy beers and the flavour from the yeast compliments the hops well.