Coopers Community

OK, I know I am a noob...

Journeyman

...when I'm looking up ingredients and find them written in a foreign language. 😄

"Cooper Premium Ale Malt carries sufficient enzymatic power to be used as a base malt with non-enzymatic specialty malts. All barley is sourced from Australian farms and is malted by Cooper’s Brewery Malting Moisture % Max 4.5 Extract % FG, Dry Basis Min 81.0 Colour EBC 4.5 - 7.0 Diastatic Power WK, Dry Basis Min 200 Total Protein %, Dry Basis 9.0 - 10.5 Soluble Protein %, Dry Basis 4.0 - 4.8 Kolbach Index %, Congress 42 - 48 Apparent Attenuation % 78 - 82 Free Amino Nitrogen mg/l Min 130 Friability % Min 80 Homogeneity % Min 95 Assortment % <2.2mm Max 1.0 Viscosity mPa.sec Max 1.58 Wort Beta Glucan mg/l Max 180"

I know it's English up till... 'Brewery Malting Moisture' but then it just goes off into lala-land. 😄 

I mean I KNOW it's a complex subject but surely the rabbit hole could be a little less precipitous near the entrance?

The relevant info to me is that it is a base malt with enough enzymatic power to not only convert the starches of it's own, but also that of specialty malts used in conjunction with it.

It is light in colour. It has fairly high attenuation capability, & is produced from Australian grown barley.

Beyond that at my level I don't really need to know much else.

Cheers,

Lusty. 

• Like 1

"Apparent Attenuation % 78 - 82"

Well I did like this bit as well - that's good attenuation if my reading hasn't let me down.

It was more how my eyes kinda glazed over as I attempted to read it. And it was just on a malted grain explanation, not a chemist site. I knew a guy in Bendigo who used to TALK like this - industrial chemist with 30 years experience in brewing research. I mean seriously, you'd be sitting at the bar drinking craft beer and he'd start in & before you knew it you'd be 5 pints down trying to drown it out. 😄 

Damn near put me off ever trying home brew. 😄 

Edited by Journeyman