Coopers Community

What am I missing?

Hi all,

I’ve been brewing from kits for 18 months now from a different supplier and had success with every single brew. My brother in law recently got me a few coopers home brew kits and I’ve done 2 and they’re absolutely awful! I love Coopers ale but these are not a patch on it so clearly I am missing something. Both have come out with zero head retention and a lack of flavour (pale ale and Mexican cervaza). I used the wort from the cans and the appropriate brew enhancer as it states, in with the yeast and then bottle. I note there is no boiling of any grains or sugars.

so what am I missing? I feel that the can or wort and brew enhancer is not enough? Or should go back to my other supplier?!!

cheers

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, garydjoyce said:

Hi all,

I’ve been brewing from kits for 18 months now from a different supplier and had success with every single brew. My brother in law recently got me a few coopers home brew kits and I’ve done 2 and they’re absolutely awful! I love Coopers ale but these are not a patch on it so clearly I am missing something. Both have come out with zero head retention and a lack of flavour (pale ale and Mexican cervaza). I used the wort from the cans and the appropriate brew enhancer as it states, in with the yeast and then bottle. I note there is no boiling of any grains or sugars.

so what am I missing? I feel that the can or wort and brew enhancer is not enough? Or should go back to my other supplier?!!

cheers

It's been a while since I brewed kits but from memory, the pale ale works quite nicely, although I never used brew enhancers but DME instead and I replaced the kit yeast with something like US-05. I also replaced the carbonation lollies and bulk primed instead. I only made the cerveza once but can't remember the result. the PA did have decent head formation and retention though.