Coopers Community

Pellicle problem

Nevadan

Hello... I'm still pretty new to brewing problems. I've only had a couple. I'm making a beer that requires adding fruit juice half-way through. I believe that what I currently have is a pellicle layer on top. The beer tastes fine right now. No taste problems at all. I've read comments from the masters who say that if the beer tastes fine, to go ahead and bottle it. But to avoid bottling the pellicle layer on top and don't mix the pellicle into the beer. So here's my question. How do I get the fruit juice in through that top pellicle layer without totally disturbing it? Could I put the fruit juice into a turkey baster and carefully poke it through the top pellicle layer and squirt it in? Or would that still create too much disturbance? Any thoughts, ideas or bona fide fixes would be awesome. And thank you all in advance. Happy New Year!

Do you have another FV you can syphon it into?

That's what I did the other week when I thought I may have had nasties on the surface.

As it turned out I don't think I did.

Perhaps a pic of the wort? It could just be harmless.

Happy New Year.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Nevadan said: