Coopers Community

What to Add to a New Kit ?

Abbot-67

Hi all,

I'm a newbie looking to buy my first kit to satisfy the taste buds of an old Rea Ale / IPA drinker.

These questions may have been ask many time before so I apologise in advance.

The only options Coopers have are the Lager (23L) Kit and the Craft Beer Kit (8.5L). Not being much of a lager drinker I was wondering if there is anything I can incorporate to the Lager kit recipe to make it closer to an IPA, Pale Ale or English Bitter.

Also, this may be obvious but was just wondering is it ok to brew smaller amounts such as 8.5L recipes in the 23L FV ?

Looking forward to getting a brew on.

Many thanks.

Also meant to ask

3) I live in FNR Queensland, Cairns area (not the coolest of climates), am I wasting my time trying to brew beer using one of the kits, can it be done without cooling equipment ?

any Beer or ale can be fermented in the 23 litre. You should go for that. 

Starting off go for the coopers 1.7kg extract of your choice and add a kilo of dry malt extract and see how you  go

then you can evolve to maybe a grain steep and some hop additions to enhance 

whats the current temps in FNQ ? You need to have your temp ideally between 18-21 for a good beer at the end. Anything over that and the yeast can throw some funky esters and flavours

If you want good quality beer , temp controlling is a must 

Edited by PaddyBrew2
  • Like 1

10 minutes ago, PaddyBrew2 said:

any Beer or ale can be fermented in the 23 litre. You should go for that. 

Starting off go for the coopers 1.7kg extract of your choice and add a kilo of dry malt extract and see how you  go

then you can evolve to maybe a grain steep and some hop additions to enhance 

whats the current temps in FNQ ? You need to have your temp ideally between 18-21 for a good beer at the end. Anything over that and the yeast can throw some funky esters and flavours

If you want good quality beer , temp controlling is a must 

Thanks,