Coopers Community

My first brew - Coopers Stout

mrchoonz

Hi, I am new to home brewing and this forum.

Currently on day 5 of making my own Coopers Stout. Sitting between 18 - 20 degrees.

I have read a few posts on brewing but need advice on whether to use the carbonation drops or sugar to my brew prior to bottling?

Going to leave bottling until day 21. I lifted the the krausen collar out on day 4.

Recipe I have used is Coopers Stout (1.7 kg) tin & Brew Enhancer 1 (1 kg), also the yeast.

Any help appreciated.

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi!

Welcome! You'll find that this forum is a great help for anyone starting home brewing.

My advice would be: why don't you do both?

That way you will know what method you prefer. Carb drops is very convenient, but with regular sugar you get the chance to be more exact with your measures. I find that some beers doesn't need two card drops but one is too little, for example.

To be honest, your first brew will probably taste like.. well, let's just say you will be making better beer in the future. Use this one to learn more. When I did my first brews I bottled a few as "per recipe", waited another week or so with another batch, tried some with two card drops, some with one, some with sugar. Most of them ended up terrible but I learned a great deal from it.

You can use either really, they both end up with the same result in the end anyway. However, as above using sugar you do have the opportunity to be a little more precise with the priming rate since you're not locked in to a pre-determined dosage size like you are with carb drops.

I expect that brew will probably turn out reasonably well, the stouts are pretty forgiving, plus your temperature is perfect too. It's also a much more flavorsome kit than the lager that comes with the start up kits.

Are you bottling into 750ml PETs?