Coopers Community

German Style Pilsner

DavidK20

Hopefully I dont get Sh*t canned for using Blackrock Products for this brew. I know this is a Coopers forum, but the brewshop closest to my home doesnt have Coopers products. To get my last Coopers extract can (IPA) I had to drive 1.5hrs from home to pick it up. So after bottling the IPA, I decided to try a German style pilsner. Being in Perth WA, and with the hot weather, also considering Im brewing in my laundry with frozen coke bottles for temp regulation, I was recommended by the brewshop to switch the yeast with a Ale yeast so I dont have to try keep it so cool. [cool] Here's the recipe Ive put down:

21 litres

Blackrock Export Pilsner

1.5kg Blackrock Light Liquid Malt

15g Hallertau hops

15g Saaz hops

Yeast- (Ive forgotten what I used now. WS-09? It was a Ale yeast recommended by the brew shop.

OG was 1044. Kinda expected it to be a little higher but Im still new to all this so everythings a suprise. [lol] Im keeping temp at around 20-22 degrees at the moment. And fermentation has started well so fingers crossed it all goes well. Any advice for this brew would be much appreciated. Anyone ever use ale yeast for pilsners/lagers here? Does it affect the brew too much? Cheers guys!!! [biggrin]

Hopefully I dont get Sh*t canned for using Blackrock Products for this brew.

I brew all grain and don't use Coopers products at all really anymore. I'll see myself out. [lol]

I don't really know much about pilsners/lagers, I haven't had any real experience brewing them, so unfortunately I can't really offer any advice, except to say if it is an ale yeast, try to keep it around that temp if you can. I've never used WS-09, so I don't know anything about it. I have heard that US-05 yeast is good for making "fake lagers" because of the clean refreshing taste beers fermented with it tend to exhibit. This is one reason I like it in my ales. [joyful]

Hi David,