Coopers Community

BOTTLES !

Polarian

so i have made like 12 batches in my home brew life ... i'm sure most of you guys have done 100's by now hehehe ....

i have ALWAYS used the Cooper's plastic bottles , and they have been fantasticly easy to handle, clean and ofcourse so easy to cap omg !

but i am a Chef and each day i see dozens of glass beer bottles and others go into the bin.

I think i am ready to take on glass bottles like the pros ! and i'm gonna start collecting them.

Do you guys reccomend any type of bottle ? personally i love the shape of a crown lager bottle.

My big question is with alot of spirit pre-mix bottles such as Jack Daniels bottles they are screw tops ...

I wonder if i can simply just find a glass bottle that i can actually just screw a coopers black plastic cap onto , that would be very easy i think !

anyways any suggestions please ? , luckily i can even wash the bottles at work in the commercial dish washer and then sanitise them , so they should be super clean !

Tell the restaurant you work for to get some decent craft beer on the menu; they generally come in nice sturdy bottles.

If you are using glass bottles then you need to get a capper. You won't be able to screw on the plastic caps.

And I hope the nasty stuff they put in the Crown Lager bottles doesn't leach into your home brew [biggrin]

Hi there P, Hairy is right, screw tops are for PETS only. Any stubby with a crown seal is suitable, i have mostly corona's as i can get them easily, but JS or little creatures stubbies are better as they are not clear glass. I will eventually get rid of the coronas as my stocks of other bottles increases.

If you work in a restaraunt you may well sell foreign beers. Heinekan, carlsberg, Asahi and becks all have crown seal tops and they are dark glass. i like the Carlsberg stubbies as they look real good too.