Coopers Community

Brew too sweet

Jakinoz

Hey all. I’m an absolute beginner and am just reaching the end of my second Coopers DIY brew. I’m about to bottle and, after tasting, reckon this brew is a bit too sweet. Any advice as to how to reduce this? Is it a simple matter of only adding one carbonation drop instead of two? Or will this just reduce its secondary fermentation and result in a less heady brew? Any advice gratefully accepted. John. 

20 hours ago, Jakinoz said:

Hey all. I’m an absolute beginner and am just reaching the end of my second Coopers DIY brew. I’m about to bottle and, after tasting, reckon this brew is a bit too sweet. Any advice as to how to reduce this? Is it a simple matter of only adding one carbonation drop instead of two? Or will this just reduce its secondary fermentation and result in a less heady brew? Any advice gratefully accepted. John. 

Just wondering if it is actually finished or if it's stalled. What are the gravity readings? What sort of beer was it? Just a kit 'n' kilo?

7 minutes ago, Jakinoz said:

Yeah, just a kit. And it is the Real Ale pack. SG intial was 34 and today’s is 8 for the second day, so bottling today. Tastes fine apart from that sweetness. 🤷🏽‍♂️

It shouldn't taste too sweet at that low a final gravity. 

There is a possibility your hydrometer is faulty.

How did the first brew taste at bottling time? It will develop a bit after a couple of weeks in the bottle

First brew not as sweet as this one, but it was a different kit - it was the lager pack that came with the initial full kit. I’m gonna put the sweetness of this new brew down to simply being a different type of beer and bottle away with two carbonation drops, as per. See what happens.