Coopers Community

Scum ring?

RepSpec

Hey guys

Putting a PET bottle in the fridge to try one of my latest brews and noticed a scum ring around the top, just below the water line. 

There is also a fair bit of floating sediment through the bottle. 

This is the first time I have noticed this. 

I havent done anything different to how I normally brew/clean etc. Brew days haven't changed since I started brewing. 

I'm thinking it's just from the secondary fermentation? And the scum seems like it's where the bottle started when I first filled it...I'm out of ideas. 

The bottles are stored in a room, inside the boxes the bottles come in. Average room temp would be 20-30c on hot days. 

They are on a concrete floor(no carpet). I used to store the bottles in a garage, but have been storing them inside.

Hopefully the photos help...

APA can, 500g ldm, 200g dex, and some mosaic and galaxy... Nothing different...

I had noticed the same ring on some of my Saison brews but put it down to the berries...now I'm not too sure

IMG_20190216_162355.jpg

IMG_20190216_162319.jpg

When you fill the bottles you might get a little foam. As the foam dies back you will get a scum ring. Not sure how you are filling the bottles. Are you using a bottling wand? Also are you bulk priming? When i bottle i use carb drops and drop them in after the fill. This seems to stop any foaming. Another reason for the foam might be the brew is not quite finished.