Coopers Community

Glass bottles hazy even after 3 stage rinse

robwalk

I'm still quite new to home brewing - just bottled my 19th brew - sticking with extracts and extract kits with mods at this stage. This is my first post, but have been a keen reader and learnt heaps before I started brewing and since. A huge thanks.

When I re-use glass bottles, some have a haze inside. I can see a clear part above the beer line. If I leave a loose cap on, the bottle has a smell when I take it off or swing it open for swing tops.

I've re-used some bottles a few times without problems and I only noticed this haze about a month ago - it is hard to notice in general light, but easily seen when back-lit by an LED.

Simple rinsing with hot water doesn't clean it. After some searching, I tried iso-propyl alcohol with some success. I am soaking a batch with sodium percarbonate and will check in 24 hours.

Iso-propyl alcohol is a bit expensive. Sodium percarbonate is cheaper, but slower.

Any other ideas for cleaning off the haze.

AND more importantly how can I prevent it or remove it right after drinking.

Additional info: I pour my beer into a glass and immediately rinse the bottle in three separate rinses

The haze becomes heavier the longer the beer is stored.

Hope you can make it clear for me.

OOoopps, I forgot about that bulk-priming topic I started a few months back - must have been seniors moment.

Howdy,

Im sure someone here will know exactly what the residue left inside bottles is, but i think from what ive read in the past is that it is proteins left behind in the beer, especially if you use hops and grain additions...

anyway...

i get the same stuff inside my bottles, with the ring around the neck etc etc...