Coopers Community

Yet Another Newbie

Scotty1525229188

Hey Guys. Mainly hoping on to say Gday and Yes you have another newbie here to deal with. As I have seen in so many threads already I believe my first brew may not be the best. I started my first brew on sunday and sadly ended up after mixing my Lager can and brew enhancer in water somehow ended up at about 32 degrees. I tried to bring temp down by placing FV in the sink with cold water but it wasn't cooling very fast. I was in a way worried after seeing reports that the Yeast should be pitched asap so I pitched at about 30 degrees. The temp came down over the next few hours and I have since been fermenting at around the 20-22 degree area. Im not totally worried after reading a number of posts in the forum that show that a few people have done the same and brews havnt turned out to bad. Also I planned on bottling this weekend but have also learnt that I may be better off leaving for another week to allow brew to clear up.

Any help and advise would be highly appreciated and I look forward to many more brews and learning all the secrets over the coming years.

Hi Scotty and welcome to the dark side of beer.

Although I dearly love Coopers and all they have done for us, I have no idea why the Lager kit is included for your first brew.

I don't recall tasting it but by all reports it leaves a little to be desired.

Be sure to smash out another brew the same day you bottle as an empty Fermenting Vessel (FV) is a lonely one.

What commercial beer do you buy?

Hey Ben10 thanks for the Welcome. I have recently been drinking Hollandia mainly due to the price but also enjoy the beer. I also enjoy pure blonde and the usual Aussie beers in VB and carlton Draught. I will not be leaving the FV empty for long as I have already been eyeing the Canadian blonde and maybe even the pale ale. I would like to get a cider in before summer hits also but am thinking I might look for a smaller FV for the cider (maybe 5-10liters max).