Coopers Community

Temperature Control

trabfountain

Hi, I'm new to brewing i.e quality brewing. I say that because over the years I have brewed Cider, Ginger Beer, Stout all with reasonable success but I want to branch out into more serious brewing. One of my main problems has been temperature control and I'm thinking of buying a Tempmate and fitting this to a fridge. I would appreciate some advice as to whether this is the best way to go and how difficult it is.

G'day Trabfountain, welcome to the forum.

As I'm sure many of the others here will agree, the best/easiest form of temperature control is by way of using a fridge. I personally use temperature controllers from Keg King and just attach the probe to the FV, plug the fridge in and set the temp and all is good. All pretty easy really.

Some people use other forms of temperature control that involve placing the FV in containers of water etc. It really depends on what you have available to use.

If you need more information just ask, there is a lot of knowledge amongst the people on here. Good luck with the brewing.

Hi guys,

I asked a similar question a few weeks ago and was pointed in the direction of a STC 1000 by Billk. I purchased one on eBay delivered from China for $23.59. it took 3 weeks to arrive and I will set it up on the weekend.

You will also find a recent thread called STC1000 check it out.

The Tempmate is great but like Sticky said you can get an STC1000 a lot cheaper. I've got both and they are great!

They do need to be wired up and can kill you if done wrong so get a pro to wire it or check it for you if you aren't sure.

But I reckon go for it. A temp controlled fridge is one of the best things you can do for your beer....it'll love you for it [love]

I wish I had one after the past few days.