Coopers Community

prices

davids47

I went to a brew shop come other shop that deels with a lot of Coopers malts , i picked up a can of drought and was going to buy it until thy told me the price $18 told them to keep it

went down the road to local super market $13 have seen them as low as $11 in the big supermarkets .

What is the right price for a standard can kit i think $18 is over the top, and if so what can Coopers do to stop this rip off by some stores

Brew shops don't have the same buying power and sales volume of the big supermarket chains so they can't compete.

That's why they tend to sell the Thomas Cooper range of hopped and unhopped malt to differentiate themselves. This range is not sold to the supermarkets.

I guess it depends on the shop. I've been going to my local brew shop pretty much since I started brewing, they tend to take a few bucks off the total price of whatever I buy now. But Hairy is right. The brew shops would more than likely go out of business if they sold things as cheap as the supermarkets. That said, I think $18 is over the top for a standard can, maybe 15 or 16 would be better. But above all that - even though you might pay a little more at the brew shop, you can get a wealth of advice that you will never find in a supermarket, that makes it worth it to me.

But above all that - even though you might pay a little more at the brew shop' date=' you can get a wealth of advice that you will never find in a supermarket, that makes it worth it to me. [/quote']

This I why I go to my local brew shop. Being a very green brewer I take every bit of advice I can and my LHBS has helped me everytime.

I find home brew store prices can be a bit high and the tight arse in me finds it hard to pay more for the same product. I'm not a fan of my LHBS so loyalty doesn't win me over.

I tend to send most of my business up to Craftbrewer in Brissy or stock up on malts when Coopers has a price or postage promotion.