Coopers Community

Bench Capper

Mainiac

Do yourself a huge favour and buy a good quality bench capper. IMO these are a much more reliable and safer means of capping. Im also pretty sure most are adjustable to suit all bottle types, mine is a brigalow brand and has atleast half a dozen height levels and will seal better than you think.[cool]

I have this nifty little spring loaded contraption that fits into the drill press. Does a great job with the capping. It caps them so tight that I have to use one of those jar lid gripper things to open the twist top ones. [lol]

Before:

318825_4379895464135_593308391_n.jpg

251994_4379902744317_668099246_n.jpg

After:

311526_4379907064425_180990550_n.jpg

It might look like all that oily crappy muck is quite close to the capping area in those photos but it's quite a distance in reality [tongue]

Cheers,

Kelsey

M I am very new to brewing and thee fella that got me into it actually has two bench cappers (he's lazy and doesn't like adjusting the height for his 2 bottle sizes) hence I have one also. It is brilliant, I too am purchasing a second for bottle day as it helps me to speed up the process. Is bench capper is good. [biggrin]

M I am very new to brewing and thee fella that got me into it actually has two bench cappers (he's lazy and doesn't like adjusting the height for his 2 bottle sizes) hence I have one also. It is brilliant' date=' I too am purchasing a second for bottle day as it helps me to speed up the process. Is bench capper is good. [biggrin']

Ben,

Instead of getting the second capper start collecting swing-cap (Grolsh style) bottles. I have 50% of these style bottles in every batch. This will buy you at least another 2mins. of spare time.[biggrin] Try getting your friends to collect them for you by offering a sack of homebrew. You'll have a glut of these bottles in no time.[cool]

Grolsch is a beer I don't like so much. But the bottles are awesome.