Coopers Community

reusing refilling kegs, sanitising only, no cleaning

Muppet74

I am relatively new to kegging (and brewing) and I have just finished an experimental Pilsner Citra smash, so now I have an empty keg that is purged of oxygen. I am proposing rinsing it with a little sanitiser while under pressure, purging the sanitiser, then refilling with a Stout that is nearly ready to keg, transferring under pressure in an oxygen free way. I am trying to save time cleaning the keg and the CO2 used to purge the keg again and I want to get this beer on to carbonate ASAP.  I have searched the internet for examples but can't find anything.

What do you think? Anyone willing to admit that they don't wash kegs between brews every time? Successes and failures?

(Would I recognise an oxidised beer if it punched me in the face? No, probably not.)

Thanks Muppet

• Like 2

17 minutes ago, Muppet74 said:

I am relatively new to kegging (and brewing) and I have just finished an experimental Pilsner Citra smash, so now I have an empty keg that is purged of oxygen. I am proposing rinsing it with a little sanitiser while under pressure, purging the sanitiser, then refilling with a Stout that is nearly ready to keg, transferring under pressure in an oxygen free way. I am trying to save time cleaning the keg and the CO2 used to purge the keg again and I want to get this beer on to carbonate ASAP.  I have searched the internet for examples but can't find anything.

What do you think? Anyone willing to admit that they don't wash kegs between brews every time? Successes and failures?

(Would I recognise an oxidised beer if it punched me in the face? No, probably not.)

Thanks Muppet

It is not best practice @Muppet74 but you would probably get away with it, I would imagine. A bit comparable to putting a new batch of wort on a backfill of a fermenter.