Coopers Community

No Head

rmorash56

Good day all and thanks for any advise you give. I am new to beer making and just bottle my 5th batch. I am using all coopers kits and equipment. 

Have made 3 lager one blonde and Mexican. all have been done per the instructions and all made with enhancer 2.  I have kept  in a warm spot two weeks and even a month. The bottles are rock hard. Cooled in the fridge over night and when poured a very small head sometimes and sometimes not.

My very 1st batch lager after two weeks put it in my walk in cooler been in cooler going on two months and only the odd bottle has a head. I used cooper carbonation drops.  all the beer taste ok and is very clear. Beer without a head is just not beer. Anyone having this issuse.

Thanks all 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, rmorash56 said:

Good day all and thanks for any advise you give. I am new to beer making and just bottle my 5th batch. I am using all coopers kits and equipment. 

Have made 3 lager one blonde and Mexican. all have been done per the instructions and all made with enhancer 2.  I have kept  in a warm spot two weeks and even a month. The bottles are rock hard. Cooled in the fridge over night and when poured a very small head sometimes and sometimes not.

My very 1st batch lager after two weeks put it in my walk in cooler been in cooler going on two months and only the odd bottle has a head. I used cooper carbonation drops.  all the beer taste ok and is very clear. Beer without a head is just not beer. Anyone having this issuse.

Thanks all 

Hi @rmorash56, and welcome to the Forum

Poor head formation/retention with Brew Enhancers is common.  

You might like to try Light Dry Malt instead.  Another option is Liquid Wheat Extract.  Both LDM and Wheat will help with foam.

You could also consider changing to sugar for priming bottles instead of carbonation drops.

• Like 4

1 hour ago, Shamus O'Sean said:

Hi @rmorash56, and welcome to the Forum