Coopers Community

Plastic Hydrometer

Biermoasta

Hey Guys, Today I had a play around with my plastic hydrometer provided in the new Coopers DIY Kit. When placed in water at 17.5C I got a SG reading of 0.995?? From what I have gathered, to get this reading (0.995) for water, the temperature would have to be about 38C. Is the hydrometer collaborated for reading at 20C? Is there something wrong with my hydrometer? Or am I just doing it all wrong (quite probable as I've never used a hydrometer before)...

Welcome to the Brewers Guild!!

The hydrometers, supplied with the DIY Beer Kit, are calibrated using distilled water at 20degC - they should read 0.998 +/- 0.001. [rightful]

Once you have a hydrometer, the first thing to do is calibrate it to your own water supply. This is done by measuring the SG, whilst taking note of the temp', then allowing for this error when you make any other readings. However, if it is too far out of whack, we will replace it [biggrin]

Can you humour me on this and leave the hydro in the water sample for about 24hrs, then let me know what it reads?? Any change while temp is steady may indicate it is not sealed properly. [pinched]

So they became a reality PB2?

[w00t] yes [w00t] yes [w00t]

Not a good start with Biermoasta reporting his being so far out of calibration [pinched] [pinched] but I'm confident that we can sort it out. [biggrin]

The reading has remained steady (ignoring small changes, due to slight variations in temperature) for about 20 hours. So I assume it is sealed properly. [rightful]

Should I just always add on about 0.004 to the readings I take, to essentially provide a calibrated reading?

BTW, a plastic hydrometer is a great idea, fragile glass and me don't mix so well! [tongue]

Yep, you can allow for the error with all readings.

If it becomes too much of a bother, contact customerservice@coopers.com.au [biggrin]

Just out of interest, how long is the red tip on the top of the hydro?

• 1 month later...