Coopers Community

Coopers Choc/Vanilla stout

karlos_1984

I'm going to brew a stout tomorrow so it's ready for winter. Here's my ingredients:

Cooper's Stout can

Cooper's Dark Malt extract 1.5kg (liquid)

100g Cocoa powder

200g choc malt cold steeped overnight

3 X vanilla beans (one for boil, 2 for adding to FV before bottling)

2 X Cooper's kit yeasts rehydrated.

Brew to 19 ltrs.

As above I'm currently steeping the choc malt overnight in the fridge. I'll do a 15 minute boil adding 1 vanilla pod at 10 mins.

I'll soak 2 other vanilla pods in vodka to be added to the FV later on, similar to a dry hop.

My question is this. Would adding dextrose to bump up the ABV have a negative effect on the flavour and body of this beer?

I was thinking of adding either 200 or 300 g of dextrose but I'm worried it'll thin out the mouthfeel and dilute some of the flavour I'm after. Any advice on this please? Cheers.

i am no expert but i think it will thin it if you want it stronger just drop the litres or bump it with malt . I havent made stout but i have made strong dark ale and the only type of sugar i would use is belguim candy sugar/inverted sugar homemade isnt hard to do and it just makes it a little sweeter IMHO hope this helps look up inverting sugar cheers Brian

the coopers toucan stout has a kilo of dextrose and from what ive read on the thread' date=' it doesnt thin it out[/quote']

Paddy is right the brew has 1 kg of dextrose.My question is why does it thin Apa's and other beers and not stout.I have never tried in belguim style dark ale for that reason ???? just askin if somebody has the answer cheers Brian

Dextrose doesn’t ‘thin’ a beer, but it will finish lower than if you used malt. That is, it doesn’t activiely thin a beer.

So if you have designed an all malt recipe and then decided to add an additional 500g dextrose, it will increase the OG but the FG should be about the same. So the beer isn’t any thinner.