Coopers Community

That home brew taste...

Jfergus

Hi all, my friend and I have been doing home brews for about 12 months give or take. Between us we might have 10+ brews completed under our belt with some dry hopping, steeping light crystal as well as standard kit and kilos. The forum has been a epic source of info and I am often finding myself reading posts by the greats such as Muddy, Otto and others etc late into the night ha ha no vain sucking up here intended i promise!

So here is the down lo, my mate and myself and just trying to get a nice coopers apa happening, tbh i would actually just be happy with a nice draught kit if thats what it comes to! On the side I like to experiment with the dark ale kit and i have had far more success with those and the stout kit then with the Apa. Man just a dark ale brewed with 1kg LDM with some dry hops tastes amazing!! I actually did a toucan that im drinking atm that was coopers OS stout and a coles lager can that i picked up for $5 just done with the single packet of coopers yeast to 18L and it is tasty only 3 weeks in.

Anything he or i have made thus far with the apa kit seems to have quite a home brew taste behind it, not unlike what i have tasted from other friends home brew when they do cheap lager kits from Close or Safeway etc. Its hard to describe this taste but it is constant, comes at the start and at the end of taking a swill. It does not taste like coopers original pale ale or sparkling ale that share similar traits. We have tried using completely LDM instead of be2 or be3 and have still had some taste like it, we have dry hopped a 22l brew with 25g of cascade and that is the only brew that seemed to lack the home-brew taste.