Coopers Community

100% Oat Malt beer

Hi All,

I'm planning on doing another 100% All Grain Oat Malt beer. Just wondering if anyone has tried it before and had any luck.

My last attempt had my mash at 69 - 74C for approx 2 hrs (1.5kg in 8l water), and my ABV after fermentation was only 2% (using Lager Yeast). I dunno what I have done wrong, all my calcs have shown at 70% eff I should have had 4.5%.

Anyway, if anyone has a nice recipe, I'd love to try it.

Cheers

Nate

Hi All' date='

I'm planning on doing another 100% All Grain Oat Malt beer. Just wondering if anyone has tried it before and had any luck.

My last attempt had my mash at 69 - 74C for approx 2 hrs (1.5kg in 8l water), and my ABV after fermentation was only 2% (using Lager Yeast). I dunno what I have done wrong, all my calcs have shown at 70% eff I should have had 4.5%.

Anyway, if anyone has a nice recipe, I'd love to try it.

Cheers

Nate[/quote']

I have never used 100% malted oats before; how was the mash and the sparge? Was it just a big pot of porridge at the end?

What was your OG? Efficiency is about achieving a certain OG. The ABV is then based on the fermentation and given you mashed at those temps, your wort wouldn't be highly fermentable.

If you are planning on doing it again then try mashing at 66C.

What was your recipe?

What is the brand of malt you have?

I get the feeling that malted oats may not have much diastic power and therefore may need some other source of enzymes to convert the start to fermentable sugars.

I have never used 100% malted oats before; how was the mash and the sparge? Was it just a big pot of porridge at the end?

What was your OG? Efficiency is about achieving a certain OG. The ABV is then based on the fermentation and given you mashed at those temps, your wort wouldn't be highly fermentable.

If you are planning on doing it again then try mashing at 66C.

What was your recipe?

Hi Hairy...