Coopers Community

Help making a pilsner like Saaz ale recipe

Hi guys,

I brew extract. On my last pale ales, I have used Magnum for bittering, and used a hop schedule of @20 min, @7 mins and DH with good success for flavor/aroma. Did one with a total of 100g Citra for flavor/aroma on my last one, that was very nice.

This time I want to try something new. I have never used Saaz before in my brews. Have 200 grams of it. Never used Pilsen Malt either. Have 3 kg Briess Pilsen LME, and Briess Pilsen DME.

What I have in mind is trying to make an easy drinking "pilsner" like ale/bastard with Pilsen malt and Nottingham as yeast, and a pleasing Saaz flavor/aroma.

I have played a little bit with Ian's spreadsheet, and think maybe a german pilsner style beer would be a good reference point. What I really have no clue about is flavoring/aroma with the Saaz. How much to use?? How much punch is in it? Since it is a noble hop, I imagine the flavor/aroma is more subtle/"weak" than the hops I am used to (?)

So following these thoughts, I made a recipe to get some feedback on, just to get started tweaking something here. So:

3.0 kg Briess Pilsen Light LME

0.6 kg Briess Pilsen Light DME

25g Magnum 13.1% @45 min

60g Saaz 2.9% @25 min

60g Saaz 2.9% @15 min

40g Saaz 2.9% @5 min (then steeped for another 5 mins after boil, before cooling)

23 litres

Nottingham

OG = 1.050

FG = 1.010

IBU = 37.2

What do you think? Too much Saaz, too little Saaz, not optimale hop schedule? Is the pilsen malt and ale yeast combo a weak combo?

Where should I consider adjusting? I haven't put in any dry hopping, as I have read about mixed results dry hopping with saaz.

If there is something obvious missing, I have a few more ingredients laying around and I have easy access to a LHBS.

Hi #20.