Coopers Community

M84 yeast bomb out(maybe)

sirbrewsalot

Hi all

I dropped two mangrove jack m84 yeast satchels in 20l of fresh wart kit. The wort kit is from the "All Inn" brewery and is there "Bill Murray Lager" which is usually the bomb.

I followed the directions which is to set the fridge between 10-15c but no movement overnight. I'm interested to hear if anyone else has tried this yeast and how long it takes to see signs of fermentation.

I usually use us05 with all the kits from All Inn but decided to use the specified type this time.

oh yeah and the yeast was out of date to the tune of 09/14, so almost a year.

Any info would be appreciated

thanks

Out of date yeast wouldn't be helping the situation. I actually googled reviews on that yeast when I started brewing all these Bohemian pilsners (which I have been using Wy2001 Urquell in) out of curiosity. A majority of them stated that they experienced a long lag time with M84, most of them around 2-3 days before it started showing any signs of activity.

I read similar things about Wy2001, including one that had it taking 4 weeks to hit FG. I have had longer lag times with it than I'm used to with ale yeasts (30-36 hours), but it's hitting FG in 8-10 days.

I would go and get another packet or two of fresh yeast, either the same one or US-05 and pitch that into it. At least this way you can be sure that the yeast is largely viable.

Edit: Is the 09/14 the best before date or the date of manufacture?

I would go and get another packet or two of fresh yeast' date=' either the same one or US-05 and pitch that into it. At least this way you can be sure that the yeast is largely viable.[/quote']

I thought M84 was a lager yeast, so US-05 seems an odd choice; especially for 10-15 degrees.

Give it another day (to 48 hrs in total). If still nothing, try some W34/70.