Coopers Community

Sierra Nevada Pale Ale - Opinions

Bazzak

I love the Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. [love] So, I thought I would try making a clone. I had a look at their website and came up with a recipe which seems to be very close to their stats. I thought you knowledgeable blokes might be able to tell me what you think. I am still new to this!

Ingredients:

110g American Caramel 120\xb0L

670g American 2-row

3.1Kg Coopers Liquid Light Malt

18g Magnum @60 mins

15g Perle @15 mins

15g Cascade @ 1 min

WYeast 1056 American Ale Or BRY-97..?

10L boil for a 21L batch.

When I put this into BeerTools I got back very close to the SN figures quotes on their website. The calcs came back as 37.5 IBU, 1.053 OG and 1.010 FG.

What do you guys think? With the grains I was thinking a 65-75 degrees steep for ~20-30 mins. Is that about right?

Really interested to hear your opinions on the recipe and method.

Thanks!

Adam [biggrin]

You will need to mash the 2-row pale malt. This is basically steeping it but keeping the temperature constant throughout. I'd probably go around the 66C mark for that. Normally you'd mash base grains for an hour, but that's with a full grain bill, I'm not sure about partials as I've never actually brewed one. You can throw in the Caramel at the same time too.

This is a hops schedule I found on another thread posted by someone who actually contacted SN and got some help formulating a recipe to get close to it (converted to metric):

14g. Magnum Pellet 60 min.

14g. Perle Pellet 30 min.

28g. Cascade Pellet 10 min.

56g Cascade Pellet 0 min. (not sure if this all at flameout or half at flameout and half dry hopped. EDIT: Reading further in the thread, these are all added at flameout)

They also used a pound (450g) of Crystal 60 along with the base malt.

1.00 lbs. Crystal 60L

11.50 lbs. Pale Malt(2-row)