Coopers Community

Original Draught (Yellow Can) Recipe

Jimmy78

Hi All

I'm new to brewing, as I have already posted in the other forum section, I will keep this brief.

I am just about to bottle my first batch which is the LAger that comes with the DIY kit.

The wife has just bought me a can of the Original Draught (Yellow Can) and I am just after what is a good easy recipe to mix it with. I'm guessing it is a bit of trial and error as to what you like. I'm just after others tried and true recipes.

I have been told to add just 1kg of brewing sugar or to use brewing enhancer 2. I'd love to hear all your thoughts.

Thanks

Jimmy.

Welcome Jimmy!

Instead of the brew enhancers (only one of them has malt and it's not enough!), for a new brewer, I'd suggest either using 1kg of DME (dry malt extract) or one of the 500g packs of DME (Coopers call it Light Dry Malt) with 300g dextrose.

The brew enhancers all have a lot of simple sugars in them, and will leave your beer lacking in flavour and body.

Start brewing with more malt than brew enhancers, keep your temps around 20c, keep everything clean. When you're happy with your process, start playing with hops, grains, and different yeasts and never look back! [biggrin] [biggrin] [biggrin]

Jimmy, I would follow Chad on this one. It is a simple recipe and an easy introduction to hops.

It will be much better than the draught kit with a brew enhancer. Plus it has cascade. I love cascade [love]

It is a good hop to use for your first try.

Hey Jimmy

I note in the other post you say that you want to keep it simple.