Coopers Community

Taking the plunge

MarkJ3

Hi All,

I've been brewing kit/kilo for nearly 10 years and brew in the laziest way I can, eg. only in the cooler (adelaide) months with a heat belt, very slack on sanitisation (and been really lucky) and no partials etc. I'm happy with my standard and content with my brews and know I can do better after reading many regular posts from the likes of Muddy, Lord Eoin, Kelsey, Philbobaggins, Wayne (YOB), OTTO, etc etc etc is brewing partial reeeeaaaly worth the extra effort. I am just too lazy (or time poor) (hate modern excuses) and like most of what I brew.

Should I take the plunge and start messing around with hops (dry hopping first) I have tried the tea bag style of hopping before and is OK and suits my lazy mantra? Down the track try partial? Need some advice from the experts on what hops go best with which styles[sideways] [unsure] [unsure] [unsure] [unsure]

I am very new to additions and have no real right to comment here, but for what its worth, grain additions have not made a lot of difference when taking account the time and extra expense involved, but hop additions have turned some very average lager kits into something quite special. Personally cascade has given my lagers a lovely dry citrus flavour and a genuine european flavour.

Kits like the APA IMHO, should be left exactly as is. Providing temp is controlled it is the perfect beer for my palatte and i cant think of any way to improve it.

Maybe invest in temp control, that will improve your beer outa sight.

You will get stacks of ideas and suggestions here for all kinds of additions, but they all will be susject to taste.

Have fun experimenting and i am sure that you will find something that suits your taste

I know Nick is talking from personal experience but I think some grains can make a difference to your brew. It all depends on the amount, the type of grain and the style of beer.