Coopers Community

wort chillers

Mainiac

I wonder what everyone does. Do you use an ice bath or a chiller?

My real question is why not just put ice in it? I use my well water as make up water. It is unboiled and seems to have no effect. So why not just make ice cubes and put them directly into the wort?

I only do 4 - 6 litre hop boils but I usually chill it in the sink with cold water for 10 mins then add to the fermenter I might be wrong but adding ice cubes directly to the wort might be a chance of infection getting in easier but then again we use water out of the tap and have no worries its a hard one someone who is into AG might be able to answer your question better.

I think it is an old wives tale.

Coopers makes millions of kits per year and in their instructions you do not boil the kits or the make up water. I would think if there was a measurable increase of infection they would instruct to boil the water.

I personally think it is safe. but then again I am no expert

Coopers makes millions of kits per year and in their instructions you do not boil the kits or the make up water. I would think if there was a measurable increase of infection they would instruct to boil the water.

a few months back there was a thread discussing water quality. i made the comment that [much to the disgust of some fellow forumees] my water tanks were very low and contained just about every species of bird, frog and bat shit, not to mention algae and tannins from leaves etc. well, every one of nearly 20 brews contain this water. i also have an ice maker plumbed into this water supply and regularly use the ice to cool my wort before pitching.

i am either VERY lucky, or the brewing process is far more tolerant to conditions that are less than 100% sterile than we give it credit for. i pitch at around 27 degs usually and within 12 hours fermentation is normally cranking along. maybe if fermentation was slow to start, the chances if infection would be higher?