Coopers Community

New to brewing - so far so good... A little advice needed on next brew.

Jimmy78

Hi all

As the subject suggests, I'm new to home brewing. Got a kit on Fathers day and thought I'd give it a whirl.

I have started with the Lager that comes with the kits and it is currently fermenting. Pretty easy really, just follow the instructions. About to bottle in the next day or so!

My question is this. The wife just bought me a can of the Coopers Draught (Yellow Can). How do I know what to mix with this? Do I add Brew Enhancer 1 like I did with the Lager. How do I learn or where can I go to find out what goes with what, am I missing reciepes? I've searched the site and can't find anything on the Coopers Draught. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place.

Anyway thanks for reading this, any advice would be greatly appreciated. It seems to be a great resource here of experienced home brewers.

Regards

Jimmy.

Welcome to the forum Jimmy!

Regarding the Draught, I haven't actually brewed that one yet, but I'd be inclined to ditch the BE1 and just add either a kg of light dry malt, or a tin of light liquid malt to the Draught kit (not both). You can pick these up at your local brew shop. It will probably turn out a nicer beer than using brew enhancers.

Also, if you can, try to ferment at a temperature around 18-20C, fermenting at higher temps can produce esters and off flavours in the beer. Leave it sit in the fermenter for about a week after it reaches final gravity (stable gravity readings 24 hours apart) before you bottle it. This gives the yeast a chance to clean up a bit and helps clear the beer.

Finally, obviously make sure everything that will come in contact with your brew is clean and sanitised to avoid infection. [rightful]

Those few little things should help while you get started and gain some experience. Good luck! [biggrin]