Coopers Community

Info Reqd add IBU after Ferment

Brett Glover

Hi all, I am relatively new to home brewing and feel I have made a stuff up with the current Beer I have Fermenting. I started with a Mexican Cerveza and added 1kg of BE2 and 500g of LDM. I have then had a brain fart and added 1kg of Dex. OG 1060. Using a tea spoon of DAP and US05 Yeast.

Now tonight I have found a spreadsheet that allows you to poulate and determine nature of the beer. Using this I can clearly see that I need IBUs added. Trouble is I am away at work for another 6 days.

Have read about isomorised Hop Extract? and possibly collecting some wort and boiling that and adding hops. then cool and blend back into Wort?

Any advice appreciated, or info on where I can purchase iso hops for Bittering in SA.

Its a learning curve

• Like 4

2 hours ago, Brett Glover said:

Hi all, I am relatively new to home brewing and feel I have made a stuff up with the current Beer I have Fermenting. I started with a Mexican Cerveza and added 1kg of BE2 and 500g of LDM. I have then had a brain fart and added 1kg of Dex. OG 1060. Using a tea spoon of DAP and US05 Yeast.

Now tonight I have found a spreadsheet that allows you to poulate and determine nature of the beer. Using this I can clearly see that I need IBUs added. Trouble is I am away at work for another 6 days.

Have read about isomorised Hop Extract? and possibly collecting some wort and boiling that and adding hops. then cool and blend back into Wort?

Any advice appreciated, or info on where I can purchase iso hops for Bittering in SA.

Its a learning curve