Coopers Community

Need help, Coopers Brew A (IPA) (Cloudy/Milky)

jcbeer

Hi all,

I need some help. This is my first attempt back at brewing after about 10yrs! I have a Coopers Brew A (IPA) fermenting (7 days so far). I have just completed two hydrometer readings yesterday (6th day) and today (7th day) both have settled to about 1011. Original (OG) reading was 1048. 

The beer looks super milky though (Pic attached).  

Should i; 

1. Leave it to ferment longer

2. Leave it to ferment longer but without heat band and on the cold cement floor to maybe let yeast drop

3. Throw it out..?

Couple of things to note what i used;

• Coopers Brew A extract 1.7kg
  • 1kg Coolers light dry malt
  • 11g Aust Galaxy Hops (Tea bag style, added to a cup of boiling water, tipped into fermenter before yeast)
  • Safale US-05 11.5g Yeast
  • Total liquid size 19L

I have had it wrapped and with a temperature controlled heat belt (the belt added 3 days into fermentation). 

Thank you!

Justin

60233621_419307452200202_8793149792789200896_n.jpg

2 minutes ago, Otto Von Blotto said:

That's normal. I'd let it go a few more days anyway to let the yeast clean up and probably drop out a bit too, but it's fine. The yeast will drop out in the bottles once carbonation has been done.

What temperature did it ferment at?

Thanks Otto, I've had the controller set to 21, but the actual temp has been constantly just under 20c through the process. normally around 19.5-19.9. The first few days it was around the 20c but one night it dropped to about 17-18 thats when i got the heat belt and controller. 

I've had it wrapped in an insulated silver type padded stuff they use on your house insulation 🙂 

I'll probably need to just be patient and leave it a few more days. 

Oh, one more thing to note, when i did the test today, i poured it into a glass first to taste, and after the remaining 5mm of liquid was tipped out, the sediment was fairly thick. in the bottom of the glass.