Coopers Community

All Grain / BIAB

Jacob

Hi all,

After several extract beers I think I'm looking at getting into the real stuff. Don't get me wrong some extract/kit beers are nice but I feel like they're all very similar tasting and would like to be able to make my own beer from scratch.

So where I would like some help is whether to invest in something like a Robobrew or a full 3V setup OR a single vessel setup for BIAB.

Keep in mind I'm a battling uni student... Any help appreciated!

Cheers

Yes, urns are used for BIAB. That's what I started with and still using it now. They're a good quality unit, the only reason I'd change to 3V is if I wanted more stuff to clean... Nah it does have its advantages but not enough for me to switch. I'm happy with what I'm producing from BIAB.

BIAB is at a disadvantage if you are making high gravity beers, even with normal strength beers the efficiency can be a bit less than 3V but high efficiency doesn't necessarily mean the beer is better. It just means you use a little less grain to hit the same OG. Not a big deal to me personally.

Just to echo kelsey i little bit. A single vessel urn or robobrew will make you beers which just as good as a 3V system. I recommend it as a first step. Have used a robobrew for 2 and a bit years with great success. But. Im going to move eventually to a 3V for a few reasons. First being a bigger batch size. I can brew double or even triple in the same time. Second being able to sparge thoroughly will give you better efficency. Plus your urn or robobrew can be a vessel in that 3V system. My recommendation is go the urn first up. Learn all grain brewing. Then make up your mind whether you wat to go further.

I was watching some BIAB clips and thought all one needed as a heat source/vessel was a good old school 40 litre hot water urn ... can pick them up from around  $130 on Gumtree or less than $300 new ....