Coopers Community

Coopers Craft Brew kit

Payno

Hi there

Im a newbie - just started with a brewing kit I got at my local brewing shop. Its a larger 23 litre FV.

Looking on the Coopers site I saw the Kit for the craft beer - just wondering if people have bought/used it wit the recipes online and stuff and what they thought.

I love my craft beer and thought it might be good to have two lots going - one larger one for session ales and one smaller one for stronger ales etc and this looks like a good way to go.

I notice unlike my other kit it doesn't have an airlock (read the FAQ's where it says it doesn't need one) and also doesn't come with a heater. Also PET bottles vs glass?

Any experiences? - is it as good and easy as the video shows?

thanks heaps

Especially in this weather, you don't need a heater. Aim to have the temp of the FV between 18 and 21 degrees. Fermentation creates its own heat - meaning if its 20 degrees in the room, the temp of the fermenting wort will be 21 or so.

I prefer glass over PET as I found that the PET bottles would lose carbonation over time. Which also means you have an excuse to go out and buy some beer!

Also the best advice I could give is keep your expectations low at first. You're going to make a few dodgy batches. All part of learning. I'm close to 5 years in now and only in the last year have I been usually satisfied with the beer I am making.

Agreed, heaters aren't necessary in this weather, then again I don't know your location but it is coming in to summer - you'll be looking more at cooling it than heating it. Despite what your brew shop sold you, a heater is not a standard piece of equipment in a brewing kit. It's an optional extra, if needed. I ferment all my ales at 18C in a temperature controlled fridge - probably the best piece of equipment I added to my brewery. Simply set and forget.