Coopers Community

German Wheat Beer

AussieJosh

Gday Paul and friends!

Im gonna make the German Wheat Beer from the Thomas Coopers Malt Beer Recipes pamphlet!

MALT: Thomas Coopers Wheat Malt 1,5kg

HOME BREW: Thomas Coopers Wheat Beer

HOPS: Hersbrucker 12g

YEAST: Wheat Beer 15g

Mix to 23 Litres

So I have never used Wheat beer yeast before, with this yeast do i ferment at the same kind of temps as an ale yeast or Lager yeast, Also what about the kit yeast, woUld using a wheat yeast make a big diffrence from the kit yeast

Cheers

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Taking Paul's not so subtle hints about the importance of the liquid yeast, I tried a variation on this recipe using:

1.7kg Thomas Coopers Wheat Beer

500g Light Dry Malt

500g Wheat Malt

400g Dextrose

White Labs WLP300 liquid yeast

Bottled it on 25th May 2010 and been drinking it from 2 weeks old and I find it's got that slight banana and vanilla flavour that you get with the commercial wheat beers like Franziskaner. Very pleased with it! It's going down a treat in this hot weather [by UK standards] and just bottled a 'Dunkelweiss' version 3 days ago having re-used the yeast with dark malt instead of light.

• 1 month later...

On the weekend I put down the following:

1 x Coopers APA

1 x Coopers wheat Malt Extract

0.5kg Dextrose

recultured CAPA yeast

made to 23L. I added some water that had been boiled with crushed coriander seeds and some lemon zest (no oranges!)

I was looking for a wheat background without it being too over powering, I think! I had a wheat beer when I was in Munich a few years back and it was just too sweet and sticky, but I like the idea of the wheat flavour.

I hope this turns out OK. I can't see why it wouldn't, should just be an easy drinking beer.