Coopers Community

Length of primary fermentation

c43559

I'm still fairly new to home brew and I'm currently brewing my second lager and i used 1kg of brewing suger and followed all the instructions. After 3 days of fermentation at approximatly 26 degrees I took a specific gravity which was 1.006. This seems to have fermented very quickly. My question is, is this common? Is it ok to bottle after only 3 days?

Cheers K_Message

I put on a Sparkling Ale recently that was finished within three days, so it's quite possible that yours is finished too. But leave it for a few more days to clear.

Even though 26C is within the recommended range, try keeping the temperature closer to 20C. You'll end up with a far better beer as yeast tends to produce off flavors the hotter it is.

It's a case of do as I say, don't do as I do :lol:

Yeast can behave differently from ferment to ferment. A particular yeast strain with the same brew and the same ferment temperature won't always finish at exactly the same gravity. Your brew achieved 1006 in 3 days and it may have finished fermenting...the only way you can be confident about this is to take a specific gravity reading then another reading at least 24 hours later. If both readings are the same you can bottle off.

• 6 years later...